SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

telescope and DSLR

Hi, i'm new in astronomy and i need bit help. I've got Skywatcher 150p as my first scope, and as i already own DSLR i wanna try astrophotography. I'm just a bit confused about connecting my DSLR to telescope, i'm not sure what i have to buy, t-adaptor, t-ring or both of them. It is also possible to use DSLR with filters? I'm also planning to buy baader solar filter, do i need to buy some extra protection for my DSLR to shoot a sun?

Thank you.

48 minutes ago, Artyom87 said:

Hi, i'm new in astronomy and i need bit help. I've got Skywatcher 150p as my first scope, and as i already own DSLR i wanna try astrophotography. I'm just a bit confused about connecting my DSLR to telescope, i'm not sure what i have to buy, t-adaptor, t-ring or both of them. It is also possible to use DSLR with filters? I'm also planning to buy baader solar filter, do i need to buy some extra protection for my DSLR to shoot a sun?

Thank you.

Hi mate,

1. To connect your DSLR to your 150P, you need a T-ring AND a T-adapter; the T-ring will slot into your camera and screw into the T-adapter, then you simply fit the nose of the T-adapter into the focuser of your scope. This is a good visual explanation (from thenightskyinfocus.com): 

5.jpg

2. Filters - These can certainly be used with a DSLR. Solar filters only need to be put on to the objective end of the telescope where light enters the tube. You can then hook up your DSLR to the focuser tube of the telescope and image away, no other parts needed; something like this (image from company7.com):

90mmSolFilterlg.jpg

Hope that helps!

1 minute ago, laudropb said:

Hello and a warm welcome to the SGL. The previous post answers your questions. The only problem that may arise is that you might not be able to reach focus without the use of a Barlow.

Do i need some special equipment to connect barlow with a dslr?

31 minutes ago, rockystar said: