SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

9.25" bino telescope - any experience of?

A40farinagolf

36 minutes ago, A40farinagolf said:

Hi,

Is there anyone out there who has experience of building / using a pair of binos made from two 9.25" Celestron OTA's please?

Thanks,

M

I think this guy has....

IMG_9461.JPG

I've no personal experience of such an instrument but here is a thread from the Cloudynights forum on a C8 binoscope build:

http://www.cloudynights.com/topic/500998-building-a-celestron-c8-binoscope-with-matsumoto-ems/

and from the same poster, a C11 binoscope project:

http://www.cloudynights.com/topic/503466-celestron-c11-binoscope-with-matsumoto-ems/

14 hours ago, John said:

I've no personal experience of such an instrument but here is a thread from the Cloudynights forum on a C8 binoscope build:

http://www.cloudynights.com/topic/500998-building-a-celestron-c8-binoscope-with-matsumoto-ems/

and from the same poster, a C11 binoscope project:

http://www.cloudynights.com/topic/503466-celestron-c11-binoscope-with-matsumoto-ems/

Thanks for these references John, they made a most interesting read. I've made a couple of smaller catadioptric binoscopes in the past, they are no more difficult to make than other forms. The compactness is very attractive but I'm yet to be convinced that the long focal length and inevitable high base magnification is ideal for a binoscope. I might revisit this in the future but currently I'm keener on Newtonian based models as they are much cheaper to make. The EMS units used by the author of the CN post are very expensive and the whole SCT binoscope involves 4 reflections per side as opposed to 3 in a reflecting system.   :icon_biggrin:

2 hours ago, Peter Drew said: