Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

HELP - T ring cold welded to new camera!!!

michaelmorris

Don't use grips :eek: it will distort it and jam it, first just try holding it it your hand, surprising what a small temperature change can do, try the sole of a trainer pressed against it to get some purchased.

Dave

Can you wrap an elastic band around the outside of the ring - it might help to get a grip on it.  You can also buy a jam-jar opener that has a rubber adjustable strap on it which might also help.  However, scientifically I'm with the temperature change guys, a few ice cubes in a plastic bag wedged inside the ring for a minute or so might help.

You would have to be incredibly careful in this instance not to deform the ring, but sometimes a light tap in the direction of turn against the side of stuck object can also work.  Another thing carefully worth trying would be to try and get some fine oil (Like WD40) into the joint with a cotton bud.  I am a veteran of freeing up stuck items having spent formative years freeing up all manner of ground glass stoppers when doing laboratory work, there are lots of things to try, but a difference of temperature is the one that most often bears fruit in my experience.

Arrrgh, I feel your pain Michael, I have often struggled with a stuck T-ring on my QSI. It is infuriating. The last time this happened I popped it in the fridge for about ten minutes, then gave it the Marigolds treatment and it did come free. I rather like the table tennis bat and trainers ideas though - I will be trying that next time. Don't go at it with the pliers though, however tempting, it will cause more harm than good even if it does get the ring off. Good luck and I look forward to reading the report that says you have freed the pesky blighter!

Hello,