SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

sorry for all the questions

please forgive me as I'm new at this 

me and my daughter own a 8" skywatcher dobsonian 

i really like the idea if being able to take a few pics with this scope but am i right to assume that because it is just a dobsonian that this would not be possible 

i have a cannon 550d totally standard but the scope came with a sense adapter that fits mo camera perfectly 

also if its possible where do i go to be able to start learning how to take photos 

thanks

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It is one of those areas where if you say "No, you cannot get images." then people come along showing an example that was taken with a dobsonian. And generally upset that you have suggested othewise.

Best way to look on it is that they are not the best and it will/can be difficult. So what happens is that you are generally told No, you cannot. Likely depends on the number of attempts and the number of good final results that it takes and you get. With a dobsonian the ratio is likely to be poor. There is a thread somewhere on imaging without an EQ. That should be a start point to ask and get suggestions.

The moon is always an option, but for the moon a DSLR and standard lens will take an image, so attaching a DSLR to a dobsonian is in some ways making it more difficult then you need to.

Planets may be an option, Jupiter and Saturn. You would dset it all to Manual, then take a video, then stack the best 30% or 40% of the images in something like Registax. For DSO's I will suggest it will be simply very difficult. What options there are for DSO imaging I am unsure.

Are you a member of NEAS, there may be imagers there that could offer advice.

Hi and welcome.  No need to apologise - whole point of this forum is to ask questions and learn.