Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Merging Star Systems

I am a novice and have a curious question.  if a star system, let's say a brown dwarf with its own planets, were to merge with ours, what would likely happen (please be specific)?  I assume such an event would produce quite severe and rather chaotic changes/disruptions.  Thanks.

The effect of a star passing near the Oort Cloud would not have a good outcome for the solar system, the trillions of objects out there would be disrupted (pushed, pulled) by the new stars gravity, sending them randomly into new orbits, they would collide with each other adding more randomness. And many many of them would become attracted to the sun and head off into the inner solar system. It could take thousands of years for them to arrive. It would be a period of "heavy bombardment" all over again. It was this period that gave the moon its cratered appearance in the early solar system. The earth would have looked worse but active geology erased all the damage over time.

if a star were to pass into the inner solar system it would be a catastrophic life ending event. The planets would likely be eaten by the star or throw out into interstellar space. A new solar system would emerge over billions of years and be nothing like what we have now.

if the star actually merged with the sun, the destructive power of the event would destroy most of the solar system and negatively effect the solar systems in our locality too.

The fact I like is the one where the Milky Way (400 billion stars) merges with Andromeda (one trillion stars) which is due to happen in 4billion years (I seem to remember) and no two stars will come together. The stars are just too far apart.

i take some comfort from this and it adds weight to the probability of your scenario being very low indeed :)