Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What is Raspberry Pi

Markh68

Mark, the Raspberry Pi is micro computer - it is generally setup to run a version of Linux.  The particularly useful feature of the Pi is that it comes with IO (input/output) pins which can be used to control/read other external devices with suitably authored scripts (programmes).  There is a whole network of support on the web where programmes and projects can be shared.

https://www.raspberrypi.org/

Jim

I'm not that experienced on using the Pi Mark - I did play around with it when it first came out but to be honest I'm not really that strong on coding.  It's like most things, it's mainly about having the time to invest in climbing the learning  curve.  The last time I played with coding was while at university (30 years past) and that was with the BBC computer :) The good thing about the Pi is that it is not that expensive to pick up so perhaps easy to justify to have an initial play with. There are some clever folk here who have done some lovely projects using it - I was reading one the other day (can't remember by whom) on use of the Pi to drive a Sky Watcher electric focuser as proper auto focuser.  I'd love to be able to do something similar.  I do love reading about these projects though and that is one of the great  things about SGL.

Jim 

My last coding was over 40 Years, Punched cards and paper tape?
I have fancied a dabble with the  credit card sized 'P'i since its inception, which was designed for basic computing in schools and is  already in its third incarnation now!

It was on 2016's Christmas list of possibilities.

Have even seen them stacked to make super computers?

On a similar note, I bought myself a bbc micro:bit for xmas (its the size of a credit card, with built-in bluetooth, compass, temperature sensor, tilt sensor) in preference to a raspberry pi as you can just connect the micro:bit to your pc rather than have to connect all the peripherals to a pi.