Narrowband

Hello from Chorley, Lancashire!

Hailfire101

Hello guys/gals/Aliens.

I just had a thought... I've been cheekily reading the forums for a while, in the shadows.
And recently joined the site and started asking lots of questions about what equipment I need, how to use it and all the normal newb stuff.

But I've never actually said hello!  How rude! 

So, thought I'd say hi and thanks for having me.

I'm a total noobie at astronomy and astrophotography.  But, I've always enjoyed looking up and wondering what is up there.

Me and my partner visited the astronomy centre up at Todmorden last year, and after a few hours looking at the moon and a few double stars (I think it was Albireo that won me over!) we decided we needed a telescope.

Months later, and a few pennies spent, I've mustered together some gear and really enjoying looking up and taking photos.
When I 1st saw the Orion nebula with my own eyes, in my own garden... that was it. Hooked. Loved it.
20 minutes later, I'd found the grey blob known as Andromeda.  Even more hooked.  (My profile pic, was my 2nd attempt at photoing it and using photoshop!)

Now, I'm just ploding along, increasing my equipment and improving/modding what I can.... waiting for the Clouds to begger off.

Thanks to the people who have helped and advised me so far.  And thanks for the future help I'm sure I'll need.

Regards
Mike

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply
4 minutes ago, JemC said:

Hi and welcome to SGL from another chorleyite, :icon_biggrin:

it's a great forum to be a part of,

but you must tell us what equipment you have mustered together, just because we are nosey and like to know :icon_biggrin:

Hi there fellow Chorleyite!

So far, I've got togther the Skywatcher 200p on the EQ5 mount. Not the best mount for the weight I'm sticking on it, but all my pocket can afford for now! :)
I've added the ra/da motor kit, and modded the standard controler to have an ST4 port.