Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Roddier test of two scopes: TS (GSO) RC8" and TS 80mm F/6 APO

I'm by no means expert in either conducting nor interpreting Roddier test, but I did two of them in order to check optical quality of my imaging scopes.

First is TS (GSO) RC 8". Test was performed last summer, camera used was ZWO ASI 185mc, under real sky. Seeing was ok, but not great. I've heard that quality of test does depend on seeing, but in general obtained results are either that good or better - not worse.

This makes me very happy since Strehl for this scope comes out to be at least 0.94.

Test was conducted as per instruction manual for Win Roddier, and with use of that software (again, as I've said, I'm no expert so I followed the manual to the letter).

Here is result of the test (screenshot):

roddier_v1.png

For the second test, conditions were not that great, a bit worse seeing than in case of the first test, this one was conducted in second half of October, 2016. This time I did deviate a bit from manual. I shot defocused star again with ASI185mc but used R, G and B channels of stacked frames to make three separate tests - one for each channel. OSC camera is probably not best choice for such work - I guess mono cam with filters would be better way to do it (there is some overlap in bayer response curves - over all three channels). Also I suspect that B result is most heavily impacted by not so good seeing, still I'm happy with results as well. Even in conditions of not so good seeing and with OSC camera, I got "diffraction limited" performance in Blue - Strehl 0.8. Green gave 0.94, and the Red was best with 0.98.