Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Pointing at the target.

8spokes

I recently purchased a lovely set of binoculars by Orion,but while I was waiting for them to be made,I was looking at other equipment that's used by astronomical minded people,when I came across a laser pointer that was attached to the guys rifle... That gave me the idea to upgrade the 20x80s by using at weaver barrel attachment to mount a laser and a finder scope to the cross bar of the big bins tripod mount.

lol...I know laser are used on telescopes for pointing at the stars. But I haven't seen anything on attaching equipment to the big binoculars except a small finder (which was drilled into the side of his housing...crazy!).

anyway, I'm new to this and can only improve with help and advice from fellow star gazers... Clear skies all!!

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have not used a laser in years, it used to be attached to my telescope but with so much air craft around this area I decided to relegate it to a shelf and there it has stayed.  Looking back I don't quite know why I bought it as I did not have anyone to show what or where the target was.

Jim

27 minutes ago, JimT said:

I have not used a laser in years, it used to be attached to my telescope but with so much air craft around this area I decided to relegate it to a shelf and there it has stayed.  Looking back I don't quite know why I bought it as I did not have anyone to show what or where the target was.

Jim

I'll use it to align my binoculars to stars...it won't be a constant beam,just enough for my target...the chances of me hitting a pilot is pretty slim and my attitude is kind of like..."they don't own the sky!" ...sort of thing. ?

33 minutes ago, BXRO said:

I have manufactured a bracket which attaches to the binoculars mounting post to which I attach a RDF, works quiet well

I just grabbed stuff off amazon...everything will fit perfectly...i hope ?