SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hi from Stafford UK.

Markh68

Hi,

I am just starting out with very interesting hobby.

I have always been fascinated by the stars / planets and have never until now ventured to look at them more closely.

I havent currently got a scope but in the process of purchasing one but cannot decide what to go for.

I have joined this forum for help and guidance as I want to enjoy this new hobby.

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and welcome to SGL - Good to have you here. The questions that will help people in your decision are ....

Is the scope for visual or astrophotography

Do you want a goto mount or find your own way around the sky?

Do you have a budget in mind?

Do you have to be portable?

Look forward to seeing you around :)

Hi Mark and welcome to the forum.

Sara's questions will enable you to make a good start in deciding which scope will best suit your needs but I have a further suggestion to make. The problem with all the technical jargon that you see plastered all over astronomy websites etc is that you probably don't know what difference all those specifications will make to your viewing experience. To that end, may I suggest that in addition to your current research, you take yourself along to your local astronomical society to participate in one of their public viewing sessions, so as to get your eye in on the different telescopes that are likely to be available to enable you to get a better 'handle' on whether what size and type of scope will best meet your expectations.