Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Dew Shields/heaters - where to start?

I'm very much aware that I'm new to this and the more I read, the more I know I need to think about about practicalities, not just theory.

Last week, I had a really successful evening with my shiny new AstroMaster 130-EQM.  The sky was crystal clear, the air temperature was well below freezing and frost was everywhere.  After a couple of hours dew (and ice) became a real problem.   I've read a lot about DIY and manufactured heaters and shields, most of which should be within my abilities but I'm not 100% sure where the best place would be to start in combating the problem.

Should I knock up a shield extending the length of the tube, or is a heater a better method to protect the secondary optics?   If a heater is considered better, how is that fixed to the optics?  I've seen some comments about protecting the primary from dewing up, but is that generally considered a problem in a modest reflector like mine - doesn't the tube form a dew shield of it's own?  If it is considered necessary to protect the primary, how difficult is it to gain access - I'm a bit cautious about damage due to "novice fingers".

I invested in a Terlad to replace the Red Dot finder and it works far better for me, but towards the end of the evening, even with a diy shield it was misting up to the extent it was difficult to see through, so perhaps a heater would be good for that too?

How about eyepieces?  I noticed that my eyepieces were really heavily dewed at the end of the evening, even after keeping them in my pockets or the case.  The focus tube was dripping.  Again, I've read a few posts for both diy and manufactured heaters, but I'm not too sure exactly how they fix to the eyepieces.  Does the heater wrap around the barrel of the focus tube or somehow to the eyepiece itself?