Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

New Guy from PA

BeagleDad

Hello all!  I am new to telescopes and formal star gazing.  I have always been interested in astronomy and have enjoyed planetariums and learning about space.  My wife and I bought our first camper last year and I thought our frequent excursions into the woods would be a good opportunity to get a decent telescope and see what we can find.  I haven't purchased anything yet but have my eyes on a Celestron Astromaster 130EQ.  I look forward to browsing forums here to learn what I can before and after purchase!

Randy and Brenda

Windsor, PA

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Randy,

welcome to SGL, lots of friendly people here !

i like your plan to get your scope out to the dark skies, sure to see more from those types of locations :)

i notice you are considering an EQ mount and suggest you do a little research into the differences between EQ and AZ mounts...

you may find an AZ mount better for both simplicity and portability.

here is an example mount to check up on called "AZ4"

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/reflectors/skywatcher-explorer-150p-az4-mount.html

its a U.K. link, but just to show you the idea. Of course if the mount will carry a 150mm then it will easily carry a 130mm. 130 is a good size for portability for sure and will work well from remote sites

if you already considered all this, then that's great!

hope you get clear skies,

Alan

Hi randy and welcome to SGL, popular scope the 130, but an aperture of 150 should serve you better, especially if use from dark sky country locations. Something to think about and research before you make your final decision, enjoy the forum :)

Welcome to the forum and 'formal' star gazing. No need for a tux, although it would be rather elegant I guess! ?

Everything's nicely informal here and I'm sure you and your spouse will have lots of fun with the forum and the hobby.

Enjoy the trip. ?