Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

This mornings observation

Nathan UK

Good morning the fine people of sgl....

as a good handful of you know I'm rather new to astronomy....

unfortunatly for the past two weeks my health hasn't been too good so on them brief nights between being cloudy and clear I haven't been able to enjoy viewing with my scope.

the past few days I haven't been hitting my pillow until 9am and I have been viewing Jupiter out the window wishing I was well enough to go out to the garden and take a more magnified peek.

I'm pleased to say this morning was the morning!

my first view of Jupiter and its moons!!!

i didn't need to star hop as I could see it clearly by eye! And sky map confirmed my suspicions that the bright star in the sky was my target days ago!

im also very happy with my scope

the swe130p , I didn't except viewing to be so good!!!

firstly I put in my 25mmEP which gave me a mag of x26

jupiter looked like a bright star with its moons orbiting to the right ,

still amazing although lacking and other detail,

next up was my 10mm which upped the mag to x65 ....

again lacking detail as before but a little bigger,

then I put in my UWA 4mm plossl

and omg!!!! Totally blown away!!!

this gave me x162.5 ...

i could clearly see two bands after a couple of seconds of eye adjustment. Bare in mind I'm in a heavily light polluted area ,The moons where a lot bigger but still looked like stars,

i have to say this has really made my day!

What a beautiful sight to behold and one more target off my list.

i know apperture is king and I would prefer a 8" scope all day in the bay but I do recommend the scope I have to anyone waiting to try viewing the heavens.

on a side note, tried a planetary filter with the 4mm EP....

made no difference except the fact a gallilaon moon disappeared (if I named the moons correctly )

clear sky's guys 

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply