SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Torn between DSLR and CCD imaging..

Drakester

Hi All,

I got into astro photography via regular terrestrial photography, (Landscape, wildlife etc) and have always solely used dslr's for both hobbies. 

I'm currently using a Canon 5DSR, which is fantastic for regular terrestrial use, and pretty decent for astro (See attached M42 single 10s shot) though it is not renowned for its ultra low light capabilities.

I'm a complete novice when it comes to dedicated astro cameras, but am assuming that these would produce much better results than even top level dslr's?

So my question is, what level of CCD (or CMOS?) camera would I need to invest in to produce decent high quality astro shots which would rival those of a top level dslr (Mainly for dso's) 

Any recommendations as to camera specs & likely price points, and ultimately particular camera brands/models etc greatly received :) 

Cheers.  

IMG_0004.JPG

Hi Xplode.

Thanks for the reply - I'm guessing that the ccd equivalent for a 5DSR fov would be a bit overkill, and the larger the fov the more £££ investment required?

Im looking for a fov which would accomodate imaging most of the main dso targets. 

Thanks. 

You could always check out a FOV calculator to get an idea of what's available to what you'd like to image. 

Maybe check the deep sky imaging forum aswell as most users post their equipment used to get an idea of what's possible. 

Since you're used to a very large FOV i'd say you minimum want an 8300 sensor (Atik 383L+) to not loose that much FOV.

A 383L+ with Baader LRGB 36mm unmounted filters will cost a little over £2000

For something larger like the 16200 sensor (Atik 16200) you would end up at a little above £3200 with Baader LRGB 50.2mm unmounted filters.

I calculated this to your scope, not sure if you use a focal reducer or not?

Without focal reducer

astronomy_tools_fov.png

With 0.8x focal reducer

astronomy_tools_fov (1).png