Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Exo planet survey

A couple of years ago I was on an Open University maths revision weekend. The man sitting next to me was a butcher by trade but also an amateur astronomer and we got talking. He told me that his local astronomy group was carrying out observations in order to confirm exoplanet identifications carried out by one of the space telescopes. I think the idea was that the space telescope identified possible exoplanets but these had to be independently confirmed and that this was a task which could be carried out by amateur astronomers with the right equipment and know-how. So I wondered if there is anyone here involved in such an enterprise.

Cheers

Steve

• 4 weeks later...

The analysis for exoplanets is actually relatively maths/computing light.  All you need to do is plot a graph, make a few measurements on the graph, and then plug those numbers into a few formulae.  It is good fun.  (Obviously for research-grade stuff the precision needs to be higher).  Try here for a start http://resources.faulkes-telescope.com/course/view.php?id=131 , but other sites are available...

Have fun

Helen

PS One of the ideas we have for the future for SGL is to go more into the science element and with group projects.  Exoplanets is an obvious one, but comets, asteroids, supernova, binary stars etc are also possibilities.  With the Gaia Mission now putting out lots of data https://gaia.ac.uk/education https://gaia.ac.uk/alerts there would seem to be a great opportunity to contribute while having some group fun!

Helen