SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Claiming great pictures to be their own

Peco4321

I'm pretty 100% sure it doesn't happen on SGL, but I'm sure other astronomy forums of the "face" type, are full of members posting pictures and claiming they are their own work. I really don't see the point as any picture has it's merits and is a way of learning from other more experienced members. 

We all like to get praise for our efforts but for me, I don't do it for that. I get enough pleasure that I don't need the praise and while I'm still learning this hobby I 'need' the advice. 

I recently saw a picture of the moon claiming to be from the same set up as mine and it's so much better by a million miles, it almost looked like one from a member of SGL that posts amazing images. 

I guess it's impossible to police. 

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Here's the image I question is possible with a Skywatcher 150. What do you think. I may be totally wrong and if so I can use this as inspiration to improve ?and would apologise for suggesting it wasn't their own. Not that I have done that yet on the other site, no point really. 

IMG_1567.PNG

I think that image is probably do-able with that setup.

I recall an amusing incident on this forum a few years back, where someone posted a picture which he claimed was an acrylic painting he'd done of the Orion Nebula. However, it was so obviously a stock photo made to look like a painting in Photoshop. Pathetic, really! He was soon found out. 

Seems like a pointless pursuit to me. The passing other's hard work off as your own. Not, the policing of these scoundrels.

Fortunatally, the vast majority on SGL don't view stargazing as a competitive sport.

I guess that the acid test is to enquire as to how the great results are obtained, and if they don't share a helpful tip or two, then start to smell a rat. There was a great thread a week or two ago about showing single subs. This might be of help?

Paul