Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

grid pattern on image

Duke2k

Hi all

I'm relatively new to imaging and I am using a ZWO ASI224mc with a cpc 9.25.

I have had a lot of good images of planets using Firecapture, AS2, Registax6.

The other day I attempted to image the eskimo nebula using 4 second exposures as my scope is alt az mounted and I don't have a wedge. However there appears to be a grid pattern on my image that isn't related to the pixels.

I only took 15 frames and no darks or flats so do I simply need more images with the darks and flats to remove this?

A friend of mine also has the same camera and is using it on a ODK16 and he is getting the same pattern on a single frame from a sequence. This pattern doesn't appear on the laptop screen during capture.

I have attached the stacked image of the eskimo and a moon image from his setup. Any help on what this is why it is happening and how to prevent it would be great.

The final image is a stack of 500 lights and 170 darks but the pattern is worse.

Thanks

grid david.jpg

eskimo.jpg

esk2.jpg

Asi224mc is color camera, and your shots look black and white. How do you process your images?

For color camera you have to treat data as bayer matrix and do debayering, don't treat them as b&w - if you do you will get grid pattern artifacts like that.

Thanks Guys that's a great help. The eskimo frames were saved as fits files but I cant find how to debayer them in DSS. Under the RAW/FITS DDP settings I have ticked the top box and chosen generic RGGB and bilinear but it still processes them as grey and not colour.

Is there a better way to do this?

What file type is the best is it RAW?

Is DSS the best free stacking program for deep sky images?

Thanks

Fits is OK format for that (I do all of my recording in fits files).