Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Portable telescope

Hi there, I'd like to  get my husband a telescope for his birthday. We're beginners and have a young daughter. We live in Nairobi  and go camping a lot and would like something portable that  we can take into the bush with us (so fairly robust). I've looked at ratings online and many recommended the Celestron 21035 70mm travel scope, but it got quite mixed reviews. Am  less concerned about astrophotography than just looking at the sky. Was also looking at Celestron NexStar 130 but also has a lot of mixed reviews including bad electronics. I'm willing to spend up to $400.  Since we live in Kenya, its hard to ship faulty scopes back and forth for repair. Does anyone have any particular recommendations? Want large aperture, robust, portable. Probably refractor. Any recommendations most welcome, thanks. 

Hi there and welcome 

I am a newbie too, and looking to buy my first telescope and I have been asking lots of questions and everyone has been very helpful :-) 

This is on my list, though it is a reflector, it is very portable 

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/heritage/skywatcher-heritage-130p-flextube.html

Sorry can't offer much more advice hopefully someone more experienced will come along!

Good luck with your search, if you are anything like me you will go from one scope to another :-D 

Personally if I was going to remote areas perhaps for several days at a time, I would stick with manual and forget anything electrical.

I don't know about Kenya, but import taxes and transport costs can add quite a bit to the price. In Chile I can expect to pay 30% to 50% more over US prices if I'm lucky - it hurts!