SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Visual only Astronomy?

Alan White

I am finding although I am drawn to the idea of astro-photography and would love to combine my love of photography and  astronomy:
time and money are not allowing this.
Is this common in this fine hobby of ours?

I so much enjoy short 2-3 hours sessions at the scope in an all manual set up.
Photography mainly appeals when here on the net and not when under the sky so I have not commited to other than some basic playing.
Time and money restrained for some years to come yet.
So I may just remain a visual only observer, I that such a bad thing?

What are your thoughts please?

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I was a very keen amateur photographer and took thousands of insect macro shots. However, I have tried ‘astro’ imaging once on the moon and really didn’t engage as I felt the camera was hogging the ‘moonlight’ and I was missing out.

As a solely visual observer I have literally no interest in imaging and really enjoy what I feel is a direct contact with the skies. I do sketch which you could argue is a type of imaging but I just take the view that it makes me a better observer as I concentrate more and extract the maximum detail that I can. I feel that in some aspects I see more detail than the imagers produce e.g. with white light and hydrogen alpha solar observing where I see more detail, more sharply than I ever see on images.

Hi,lots of people on this forum are just visual observers, and a lot who just like imaging. Why not sketch what YOU see, this will help you to see more detail, it`s  pennies to set up and its good fun which is what it`s all about, and you will see your results.This is what I do.Yes I do enjoy trying to take images of the Moon & planets.

But visual observing comes first. Just enjoy yourself.

Des