SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Skywatcher skyhawk 1145p

As im a newbie with a skywatcher skyhawk 1145p and a goto I am looking for any tips and advice that people want to share when using this telescope.

I am still getting use to the telescope, the goto system, planets, constellations etc. Which I'm enjoying, I am taking my time in doing so which I have to due to been busy in work and cloudy skies at night. I welcome any advice from people and read the posts of other people everyday, I am interested in people's views especially those using the same telescope as I think it would be beneficial to exchange notes when using the 1145p

Cheers

You have a good range of low to medium-high magnifications, up to 100x. The 25mm focal length is basic in 1.25" format, it gives the lowest power and widest field, always nice to have that 25mm focal length. But a 115mm reflector can easily use 160x or 170x power. These are the proper magnifications for planets, globulars, shell (planetary) nebulas, and tight double stars. I don't see other special advice for that particular scope, keep observing like you do.

But for observing in general, with any scope, do you know how to have the best dark adaptation, and keep it, and find the spot the with the least turbulence?

Thanks Ben. I was thinking of getting a 6mm EP in time to get a better magnification but before I do I want to get as much out of my current EP as possible and enjoy what they bring. 

Regarding the dark adaption you mention I am not 100% sure what this relates to ( sorry ).

Thanks for the feedback, always welcome.