Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newb inbound

mattd85

Hi all,

I've been meaning to join up since before Christmas but work got in the way. My names Matt, I was suggested this forum may help me by another member who is on a photography forum I'm part of, SwagAstro.

anyway long story short, before Christmas I won a competition with all about space magazine/Facebook page. I won various scopes. The one I kept was the Meade ETX90. I'm completely new to astronomy and astrophotography so I'm keen to learn.

I'm currently living in Bathgate, Scotland, originally I am from Salford, Manchester.

thanks 

matt

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks all.

i had a quick play with the scope a few nights back, clear skies but a crescent moon. I'm sure I set the scope up correct but I was left confused looking through the eye pieces.

the goto auto guide was telling me it couldn't go to the moon as it didn't rise until 23:15pm despite it being in the sky.

also when selected things like the andromeda galaxy it would move into position but alls I would see in my eye piece was a few stars, like dots.

am I expecting too much from this scope?

Thanks 

3 hours ago, mattd85 said:

Thanks all.

i had a quick play with the scope a few nights back, clear skies but a crescent moon. I'm sure I set the scope up correct but I was left confused looking through the eye pieces.

the goto auto guide was telling me it couldn't go to the moon as it didn't rise until 23:15pm despite it being in the sky.

also when selected things like the andromeda galaxy it would move into position but alls I would see in my eye piece was a few stars, like dots.

Thanks 

Sounds like an alignment problem to me. GoTo is generally very close. Check your exact location, date, and time, then do the procedure carefully.  Should be fine then!

Doug.