Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Finally managed to have a proper go at Orion Widefield last weekend.

45x240s (3hours) with Canon 6D and 50mm f2.8 at ISO800.

No darks/bias/flats. Stacked in DSS and processed in PS.

I am pretty happy with the result but now it got me thinking, how do I go from this to this: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orion_Molecular_Cloud_Complex#/media/File:Orion_Head_to_Toe.jpg

Is it a matter of longer acquisition, or is that CCD territory?

Orion-Widefield-2.jpg

Lovely.

A lot of it is down to processing, the linked image is processed to suppress the stars and bring out the nebulae.  I suspect it is also a mosaic made up of several smaller images.

I am a complete noob at this but if you use Photoshop you can download a plugin with a set of actions. The plugin is called Astronomy Tools: http://www.prodigitalsoftware.com/Astronomy_Tools_For_Full_Version.html

They have actions to bring out the nebulae and make it pop etc, watch some videos first on it. But as said above it is down to processing.

40 minutes ago, D4N said:

Lovely.

A lot of it is down to processing, the linked image is processed to suppress the stars and bring out the nebulae.  I suspect it is also a mosaic made up of several smaller images.

I have been trying to do that, but after a certain point stars look like dust speckles and image looks very rough as opposed to the smooth image in that link.

33 minutes ago, Yamez said:

I am a complete noob at this but if you use Photoshop you can download a plugin with a set of actions. The plugin is called Astronomy Tools: http://www.prodigitalsoftware.com/Astronomy_Tools_For_Full_Version.html

They have actions to bring out the nebulae and make it pop etc, watch some videos first on it. But as said above it is down to processing.

yea that's what I tend to use. It works to a level, but I can't suppress enough without ruining image quality.

10 minutes ago, wxsatuser said: