Narrowband

130P-DS Complete Strip Down and Rebuild

Hi

Hopefully I have started this in the right section :icon_biggrin:

After getting some left side distortion while imaging with my 130P-DS and DSLR (see attached) I am starting from scratch trying to get everything square and aligned.

I used the strips of card method to attempt to find the spot directly opposite the focuser. This is what I can see through the sight tube after placing a hole reinforcer over the spot. It obiously looks out and my best guess is that it would appear to explain the apparent tilt in the images I am getting.

Opinions please.

Many thanks

Here's the problem I am getting

Single__2017-01-02_21-49-52_0002_ISO800_60s__19C.JPG

This is the view through the sight tube

IMG_20170107_084333.jpg

I am no expert in this but from the what I can see it looks like the secondary is slightly out and needs moving (to the left in the picture). Maybe move the primary a bit more to get it central. Your best bet is to wind in the secondary wind back the primary and start again. I had massive issues with my 150pds but once I put it back to the start it took no time to get it right.

You also need to check you colimation using an out of focus star to be 100%.

I doubt you aren't already aware of these:

You could also refer to Astro Baby's Collimation guide at Astro Baby's Collimation Guide.pdf (thanks to @Davey-T for posting this after Astrobaby's website one toff line at the moment)

AstronomyShed has a tutorial too on Youtube 

and yes, I do have a certificate "Teaching Grannies to suck eggs 101")

and, also, yes, I am stalking this issue :)

Hi