Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Newbie Help!

I am interested in getting into imaging, I have a Celestron Evoultion 8, and am thinking of getting a ZWO ASI1600mm camera https://www.firstlightoptics.com/zwo-cameras/zwo-asi1600mm-cool-usb-3-mono-camera.html

What else would I need to buy to go with the camera? Would these two be a good combination? and what sort of images would I be expecting to get from these together?

That will be a challenging combination to start imaging with. The Evo 8 has a long focal length and therefore has little tolerance for poor polar alignment and anything that causes it to track less than perfectly. The ZWO has relatively small pixels which will only exacerbate any tracking problems you might have. FWIW, I've been imaging for 18 months, recently starting working with an 8" Celestron Schmidt-Cassegrain -- same basic design and focal length as yours -- but with a reducer to shorten the focal length by 30% (making it more tolerant of tracking errors), a decent off-axis guider, a camera with bigger pixels than your ZWO ... and I'm getting not-so-round stars.

I'd suggest looking for a scope with a shorter focal length -- a fast 80mm APO refractor is one option, a smaller Newtonian might be another -- and/or consider starting with lunar or planetary imaging (which needs only very short exposures but lots of them) with the Evolution 8.

Hi there! Thanks for your reply!  We (myself and imballinger) have been trying to make sense of how to get started. While it is all still confusing, we essentially want to be able to adapt the scope to all kinds of astroimaging. In my (our) limited understanding, a reducer, a wedge and an autoguider could help achieve that (along with probably more, which is unknown to us as of yet) with the above camera. But frankly, the question is, what do we need to buy to make that scope perfect for all kinds of imaging? 

Many thanks in advance :)