Narrowband

EP's for Skywatcher 250px Flextube

First question really is do I go for 1.25" or 2", ive had a look and it looks like the 2" are a lot more expensive, but are they better on certain scopes or particular objects ?

I understand some EP's wont be suitable for my scope (F5) but how do I know what is, and what isnt suitable ?

Ive received some advice in an earlier thread on some possible choices of EP's, such as BST Starguider/Explorer range, if you can stretch to £100ish then the Explore Scientific 68°/82° ranges or Vixen SLVs. How would I choose between 68°/82°, is that a personal choice or would one be better than the other on my scope.

I currently just have the supplied EP's, im not looking to buy the very cheapest budget EP's, my dad is a photographer by trade for over 30 years so I understand the value of good gear, but also you usually get diminishing returns, where the very best are better, but not *that* much better that the prices can sometimes be. Also as this is all new to me I do want to limit expenditure to an extent, so no more than £100, probably more around the £50-70 range really. Im open to suggestions on the best way to go about things, im sure you have all bought various things, and if you had the time again would have made different choices.

Thanks

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There's no fast rules for this one, EP selection is not easy, due to the vast amount of EP's out there, and although you have an f/5 scope, its not essential to buy the most exotic eyepiece to get the job done!

Any one of the eyepieces in my collection would probably work well on your scope, and only by having an eyepiece in the scope will you know if its right for you.