SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Orion Nebula - fix or scrap?

edarter

Hi,

Last night was very clear in my part of the UK and I couldn't resist another session capturing the Orion Nebula. Being the complete novice I am though I got my camera orientation different to the previous session that I had done and the subsequent stack from both sessions demonstrates this below. The question though is whether this is fixable in Photoshop or whether I just scrap it and write off one set of subs.

Thanks
Ed

Orion Full stack 030117.jpg

Whatever you do. DO NOT SCRAP ANY IMAGE... EVER!

Disk space is relatively cheap.  So, never scrap your images, not matter how bad you think they are.  Over the 15 years that I've been in the hobby, I have taken nowhere near enough images.  I've lost some of the frames that I have taken.  Some of them where extremely bad.    My favorite of these, is an aweful 10 min, unguided exposure on the Great Orion Nebula that I took with a slide film based SLR.  The image was a good exposure, however there were problems with it.  The whole image shifted in a Zig-Zag fashion.

Years later, I was a asked to give a talk on Astro photographer.  Pretty much an astrophotography for dummies.  It was a run down of the kit that I used, the problems that I faced and how I solved them.

The problems were....

1. power

2. dew

3. focussing

4. long exposures.

The solutions

1. mains power, or really big battery (I use 70Ah as a matter of course)

2. Dew shield + Dew heaters  + Hair dryer (just in case)

3. Bahtinov mask and use of live view - or software to help get that focus spot on.  Also, electric focusser, so make life easier.