Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie goto telescope for camping

Hi all,

my first post post here and thought I'd dive right in, sorry if this is done to death as there are a few very similar posts but figure my prime requirement is slightly different.

xmas present from the wife is a telescope, she's been scouring eBay etc with a budget of 200-250. She's identified the sky watcher 127 synscan as a good option.

im completely new to observing. Don't really know what I want out of it. We do a fair bit of camping with the kids and always enjoy looking at the sky at night. So that's what this is for :)

main requirements

portability - needs to fit in the car with our camping gear. If it's massive or really heavy we'll probably not take it out as much.

auto setup - as automatic as humanly possible please :) and I like my gadgets lol

something like the goto system which can take you on a tour or point/track specific objects

optionally:

terrestrial use 

camera/webcam/Ccd for pictures- not sure if I'll really need that but great if it's possible.

so far it looks like the sky watcher 127 goto and the celestron equivalent are front runners. I've also found the celestron 4se which seems to tick the boxes. The 5se would be lovely but out of budget from what I can see.

Are any of these bad choices? They are all mak setups(?) which we thought gave us the benifit of a more compact unit.

anything else we should be thinking about/considering? - I'll probably be powering it direct from the 12v on the Landrover so will need a suitable cable.

cheers!