SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello from Liverpool :-)

Nathan UK

Hi everyone , I'm new to astronomy....

still a little confused about things as well haha. 

I own two scopes the first one I purchased was celestron power seeker 114eq/f 900and my newer scope is the skywatcher explore 130p/f650.

im starting to learn to navigate the sky a bit better ....

even when walking of a evening I'm looking up recognising constellations but trying to view things like planets, the andromeda or the ringed nebula and I'm just hitting a brick wall lol .

im finding (for example) where the andromeda should be but I don't seem to be actually seeing what I want to see haha. 

My highest mag on the celestron is x225 using a 4mm plossl 

my highest mad on the skywatcher is currently x65 with a 10mm eye piece or 162.5 with the celestrons 4mm eye piece. 

I would also like to note that I have a x3 Barlow lense ..... 

Cananyone give me suggestions of how to get the out of of my scopes and what scope I would be best using for planets, nebulas , the andromeda ect I am a complete beginner but trying my best any help would be appreciated thanks

nathan.

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Nathan, and welcome to SGL. I use the same scope as you (SW 130 P) only just got into observing been using the skymaps.com monthly PDF free download as a guide. Hope you have as much fun as I am having . Plenty of people on this site who will help you gain the knowledge to really put those scopes to good use

Hi Nathan welcome to SGL. Try using a low powered eyepiece when viewing andromeda, it takes up a larger portion of the sky than you might think.

You won't see it like you see it in images, as cameras are able to take long exposure photos. If you haven't seen the Orion nebula yet, I'd definitely look at that first so it might make finding andromeda a bit easier as you'll realize how dim DSOs are.