Narrowband

Starting again - What to get first?

Hi All,

Been a long time since I posted here, but now my interest has been rekindled I will hopefully be a regular visiter.

I have had some previous experience with budget equipment and got the expected budget results.

What I am aiming for this time around is to do a bit of imaging, cost was a prohibiting factor before but it is not such a scary financial prospect as it was a few years ago. That is not to say it is not still scary... just not as much!

at the moment I have no proper equipment at all, I am limited to moon shots with a hs10 bridge camera. Since reading up here the last few days I have learned a lot about the different settings and how it affects the image. Until now I didnt even realise my camera had a manual mode!!  For its intended market purpose and price it is pretty good, a point and shoot that flatters the user. However it waved a little white flag when I pointed it at the moon last week, which is what got me looking for advice and brought me back here.

I had set my mind on an 8" newt, there are a good number of tube only options available at the moment. This is where things get tricky for me.

Do I...

go ahead and get a cheap used tube, get a mount that will do for viewing and use as is while I save for a camera and better mount.

or get a camera to start with and stick to moon imaging to learn how to use the camera first before getting the rest of the setup. I also need to learn about the stacking and processing of the images.