Narrowband

Dobsonian 150p photography

Hi guys I'm new to stargazers lounge. So here's my story. After 3 months worth of reading I purchased a Skywatcher dobsonian 150p for a starter telescope for my girlfriend for chistmas. I had a £200 budget. I think I've chosen well? Anyway, my question's are. Will a canon 1100 camera work with this? Should have checked first :(. Also, should I be looking to upgrade the scope or anything to make planets or nebulas clearer? As you can tell I am a total beginner. Thank you for reading. 

Hi Kieran,

I don't see a reason why canon 1100 shouldn't work with it. You would need an adopter for the camera to attach it to the scope ( not sure you already have it). You don't need to upgrade the scope to have a better view of Moon, Jupitor, Mars, Staurn and Venus but probably would need a high quality and high power eyepiece. For deepsky object I don't think you can do much with 5 inch (in terms if clarity)

cheers!

AJ

Nice scope to look at the sky with, but not the right scope to photograph the sky with, OK not the right mount to photograph the sky with, is more accurate.

There is unfortunately a difference between viewing and photographing. Some cross over but it means picking items that enable both. As in you pick the mount and then the scope.

To take images of the sky really requires an equitorial mount that is motor driven, many find a full goto better as the motors are often more accurate and the mount will aim the scope at the desired target quicker (saves time). If you have read of people using a 150P it is likely to the the 150PDS scope and the scope will be on an equitorial mount. Astrophotography is an area unto itself. The problem is that people use a scope and a mount, they are usually different scopes and mounts. That bit of information is often lost.