Narrowband

My first exoplanet observation!

That's a little optimistic I think. What is preventing the error bars getting smaller and the number of data points getting larger - exposure time ?. 

A great effort nevertheless

What do you think contributes to the underlying variation - detector noise or sky variations? 

Very interested.

Regs

Mike

Thanks everyone, Its my first attempt and I hope I can look back on this one in a year or so and know what I was doing wrong. It sure is tricky, the depth of the magnitude drop is only 0.0135 mag.

if anyone has any advice as to how I can improve I'd much appreciate it.

What do you think contributes to the underlying variation - detector noise or sky variations? 

This is a good question and I need to figure it out to improve the data collection before I can submit it. All the data was captured remotely too which adds to the challenge :-)

The main factors causing the noise were (I believe)

1. Constant focus changes
    1. The capture system was configured to capture 1min exposures continuously and only focus if the HFR was above a threshold (1.2pixels). However for some reason it decided to focus after every frame! This caused focus variations. I threw away any frames with poor focus and found that including these made the data much worse.
  2. Poor tracking. 
    1. Related to above. During focus, guiding is suspended and I only set a 10sec delay after focus. Once focus is finished it needs to get the guide star back in track but the exposure may have already started by then. Again, any frames with bad tracking were dumped.
  3. Exposure time.
    1. 60sec exposures were used. For this 13.7 mag star this resulted in a peak of about 7000 which is a bit on the low side but still in the linear range. I think a longer exposure may be better.
  4. Calibration
    1. I used darks that were 1 month old. Currently working on automating capture of darks to happen straight after the schedule is finished.
  5. Filter