Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

AstroMaster LT 60AZ - Eyepieces for Solar System Bodies

Naten

I'm not sure if this is in the right forum, sorry if it's not.

I have an AstroMaster LT 60AZ, which I've already used to observe a couple of the brighter deep-sky objects (from light polluted suburb skies!). It's a good scope, even though it's only $110 on Celestron's site, and for a 60mm refractor it's given me a lot of good views. The best are probably of the planets and the Moon. Using just the 20mm and 10mm eyepieces it comes with, it's served me well. They give 35x and 70x magnification, respectively.

According to Celestron's specs of the scope, it has a highest useful magnification of 142x. 

Would it be practical to buy an eyepiece with a higher magnification? If so, any eyepiece that you can recommend to me? Thanks.

Hi.

I have a very good, optimized 80mm/600mm achromat that can't be used over 150x for planets (but accepts 255x for doubles because they don't have the fine detail and subtle contrast of planets), so I doubt your 60mm could really use 142x, 120x seems more reasonable. With a 700mm focal length, you'd need a 6mm eyepiece like this one:

http://www.teleskop-express.de/shop/product_info.php/info/p149_Super-Ploessl---6mm-Brennweite---1-25----FMC-Verguetung.html

I had a 60mm/800mm for a while, that I bought used just to restore it, then I gave it away. I think I used 128x (not sure) but the image didn't benefit much over 96x (if memory is correct). Chromatic aberration was very low, even when aiming at super-white mercury-vapor lamps, but a 60mm achro hits the roof at 100x or 120x. I would buy only one extra eyepiece for it, investing more would be justified only for a larger scope.

I have observed in scopes between 40mm and 400mm, and binoculars between 21mm and 80mm; personally 70mm is the smallest scope that I find satisfying, and 80mm is the smallest I would spend big on. 

2 minutes ago, Ben the Ignorant said:

Hi.