Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Picking Cameras and Lenses for Astrophotography

I am new to the astrophotography (AP) part of star-gazing.  I am trying to get into it with a relatively big leap in a few short months.

I have a Canon EOS 80D that is modified for AP.  I am embarking on my AP career by getting into simply aimed, non-tracked, non guided AP with the EOS, a tripod, and BackYardEOS (BYE).  Just trying to get used to the concepts of prolonged (1 minute to 20 or 30 minutes), multiple exposures with "Lights, Darks, Flats, Biases, Calibration, Aligning, Stacking, Post-processing," and whatever other term I may have left out.  I'm presuming that I can play around with all that stuff with EOS images for the few months that my POD is in planning and construction (It's winter here now in South Dakota).

When the POD is built in the Spring, I will install a Celestron 11" RASA with autofocus and guide scope (all sitting in a corner for now) on a permanent pier and be ready with the EOS and BYE to try some tracked and guided AP with the RASA and all that other stuff with those captured images.  Hopefully by then I will have defined  a better idea of what class of objects I want to aim at.  If you asked me now I might say some like deep sky objects, but that may just be influenced by all the great material I see on the web (like here) and may prove to be beyond my ken or ability.

MY INTERMEDIATE TERM QUESTION:  WHAT TO GET FOR AN INITIAL DEDICATED CCD CAMERA?