SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Complete newbie

Sachman

So first post

Always interested in astronomy and had a random wave of interest again and bought a Orion xt8 plus dob and some 10x50 bins. 

My target was M31 and had to wait 2wks after buying to use it thanks to British clouds.  1st 2 clear days were a waste of time. Saw loads of stars but not my target. 

3rd day finally managed to see it with the binoculars! Saw it with my 24mm but struggled with the 10mm and Barlow. Mainly because everything was so faint and the standard eyepiece isn't good for glasses. 

Interestingly there was a point in time where I saw, what looked like a star moving quite fast across my field of view with the 24mm. It would go past the diameter in about 3-4secs. I tracked it for about 30secs and tried to change it to the 10mm but lost it. Wasn't sure what it was.

hardest thing I'm finding is tracking. Even when I found m31 with the binos it still took a while to get the telescope there even with the red dot finder. 

May get a better 10mm eyepiece for glasses  

view wasn't as good as I was hoping with this telescope but could be as I'm inner city and expecting too much lol

11 minutes ago, Sachman said:

view wasn't as good as I was hoping with this telescope but could be as I'm inner city and expecting too much lol

Welcome to the SGL.

I can only just make out M31 from my garden and I live right on the edge of town, and not 500 feet away I have a great site to view from, appears to be totally shielded from stray lights, its getting the scope there that matters?

That said, an 8" telescope away from the city lights, direct lights, any lights, and you'll believe you have a different scope, such  is the difference, provided the seeing conditions allow, and the telescope is properly cooled and collimated.