Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hi All

I’m a complete novice thinking of purchasing my first telescope for both viewing the night sky and astrophotography. I have a good telescope for birdwatching that I occasionally use to look at the sky, this has given me a taste for exploring what’s up there but I really need something more suitable to take me deeper.   

I am very lucky to live in a part of Northumberland with little light pollution, so I intend to do most of my observing from the back garden. However, I may want to transport the telescope from time to time in my van.

I already do a lot of landscape astrophotography and I own DSLR gear for that purpose. As I already have an interest in photography I am sure that I will want to try my hand at prime focus photography through whichever telescope I end up purchasing, I would be particularly keen to try photographing some deep sky objects if possible.

I have spent the last few days online researching which telescope might help me step into the world of star gazing/astrophotography and I am thinking along the lines of a skywatcher 200PDS with a HEQ5 mount.   

Everyone here will have more experience than me so I thought I’d ask whether this would be a suitable set up for my requirements as a complete novice looking to teach myself about the sky and bung a DSLR on it now and then ?! It costs a lot of money and so will involve some saving up before I can purchase, I did consider cheaper set ups but my mate told me if I was keen to use a DSLR then I should save my money for something more suitable or I might end up frustrated. I hope the 200PDS is suitable ?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts or advice you can offer.

Welcome

As you want to do both and you already will have camera tripod and various lenses for the photography itch get a skywatcher star adventurer.

Then for the observing itch a nice telescope on an easy to use for observing altaz mount such as a AtAz 4 with 150p