Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First time sky watcher!

Hi guys and girls, i am completely new to astronomy and could do with some advice on what would be best to get for my first scope.

What do you think of this scope: http://www.bristolcameras.co.uk/p-sky-watcher-star-discovery-150p-computerised-go-to-reflector.htm#accessory

Seems to be good value for the money, but i honestly dont know what i'm really looking at?!

give me your opinions and any reccomendations on brands and specific scopes, this would be great thank you!

Hello and welcome,it would be good to know what your main interest is,ie visual bit if photography,what your really paying for is the electronics,personally i would go for a Skywatcher Skyliner 200P Dobsonian 8" dob,and just learn your way around the sky,you would have money left over for maybe a couple of eyepieces like the BST,s.

General suggestion (although here it's really a matter of taste/philosophy): it depends on how much time and effort you want to invest before gettings results. If you never looked at the sky before, a good monocular or a binocular are just fine to start with. If you just don't know, then I'd advise as a first scope one with at least goto and tracking: this really brings you right away to see things and relax with the tracking, giving istant gratification. After that, you can better judge whether you want to go the "pure" (no motor) way, or go on with the "comfort zone". In fact, in terms of learning the sky, I found I learnt much more from a motorized scope when a beginner, so that now I can just point without go-to: the other way around is way harder, and can be a stopover for a beginner.