Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New CCD advice

Stryda

Hello, I'm looking to buy a CCD camera for xmas.

My current setup is;

Meade LX200 12" Scope/mount with equatorial wedge. I currently image with a canon 5d mkii, and have obtained some good images with that, but hear CCD is the next step.

I've never used a CCD before and have around £450 to spend on one, can anyone advise a good one at this price? Colour or mono? Whats the difference? Will my setup be suitable for CCD imaging? Will I need a guide camera?

Any advice is appreciated!!

P.s based in UK.

£450? There is no CCD at this price as far is i know and if there is, the sensor is way too small for a scope like that.

I guess you're a beginner and your setup isn't really suited at all for imaging for someone that isn't very experienced.

I could not with good conscience advice you to spend any money to use your current setup for imaging as you can just throw money at upgrades time after time and still not get very good results.

If you want to take good images pretty easy your best choice is to either piggyback on your current setup (or get a new mount) with a refractor or small newtonian (like the 130PDS) to use with the 5D II.

I agree entirely with Ole.