SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Newbie and absolute beginner with this type of equipment, took me an age to set up the equitorial mount after finally watching You Tube I managed . I've also set up the little view finder up pointing at a distant object.

My problem is the lenses. It came with a Barlow 3X lens (a tube about 6 inches long) a Plossl  25 mm AF 40* and a Plossl 6.5mm AF 50* (I haven't a clue what any of this means).

When i put the Barlow and the 25mm lens I can focus in, had a really good look at the moon and Jupiter (although I was somewhat disappointed with the level of magnification), but when I put the 6.5mm lens on I simply cannot see anything other than a blur, no matter what I do. Is it possible that it is faulty?

Advice in idiot proof language greatly appreciated.

I'd put the Barlow lens to one side for now and get to know your new gear with it out of the equation. You don't say what the telescope is but a 3 x Barlow lens on a 6.5mm eyepiece will give the effect of using a 2.2mm eyepiece and, except under exceptional conditions, I'd expect this to be rather hard work!

What is the telescope?

Just now, steppenwolf said:

I'd put the Barlow lens to one side for now and get to know your new gear with it out of the equation. You don't say what the telescope is but a 3 x Barlow lens on a 6.5mm eyepiece will give the effect of using a 2.2mm eyepiece and, except under exceptional conditions, I'd expect this to be rather hard work!

What is the telescope?

Visionary Mira Ceti 150 1400