SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Inspired to shoot the moon

Fozzie

Afternoon everybody...

I’ve been Inspired…

Not absolutely, you must understand, not in the way of serious astrophotography, with EQ mounts, guide cams, CCD’s, filter wheels, processing software amongst others, and finally huge amounts of time, passion and talent to produce all those mesmerising images of DSO’s we see on here often…

I’ve been inspired to take reasonably nice moon and solar photography, using A DSLR. 

The DSLR is something my good lady and I have been mussing about for a couple of years, she would like to take more of an interest in portrait photography too, so as a compromise in a non astro modded DSLR we have decided on the cannon eos 750d..

I'd just like some advice on, well I guess will it work/is it plausible and am I on the right track.. etc.

So the shopping list we have is

• Cannon EOS750D
  • Adapter and T Ring
  • 75-300mm EF IS lens (to follow)

This is what I have (assuming the good lady needs nothing else to take photos of my ugly mug, why on earth she'd want too?)

• 102mm F11
  • 72mm F6 ED
  • Skytee2 mount/Mg alloy mount and ball head.
  • Herschel wedge

The software I can use.. (free Downloads)

• PiPP
  • Registax/AS
  • ImPPG
  • Photo editors etc that come with the cannon.

Here are my initial thoughts, on the process of actually taking the RAW or (avi’s) images

• Shoot individual, manually aligning the scope as we go.. Essentially using my illuminated recital EP in either the 72mm or 102mm to align and shoot on the skytee, using a remote to trigger the camera.

Or

• Shoot a short video, the 750d does 1080p/30fs (better with the 72mmED as I think the image would drift out on the F11)

However this is where I would like to ask for help on the following topics.

• Will the above set up work for moon/sun photography, will it be worth the time/effort (could always down grade to a 1300d)