Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_dslr_mirrorlesss_winners.thumb.jpg.9deb4a8db27e7485a7bb99d98667c94e.jpg

I'm a complete noob with imaging but am really methodical in approaching any hobby I pick up so I'm hoping that with a little practice I can someday take some amazing images for my own enjoyment.  Currently I'm having no end of trouble with my scope setup and was hoping someone could shed some light on what MIGHT be going on here.  I have a Nexstar 6se which uses spur gears I realize, but it's what I have.  I'm using a celestron 6/8se wedge on a cpc 1100 tripod which makes for a rock solid platform for this modest scope.  Movement calms down with this setup in under a second so I'm confident it's not the mount.  The problem though, when I get my camera on the scope, get things focused as well as I can without a mask (i'm working on getting one 3d printed), I'm getting trails no matter what I do!  I'm polar aligned, making very sure to use a high power eyepiece and really spend the time to line up my mount.  Any image longer than about 20 seconds however exhibit trails!  I've adjusted the backlash controls from 0 to 50 in 5 unit increments with no discernible results.  I've used A/C power as well as a 12 volt 20amp/hr battery so I don't believe it to be power related.