SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Starting out - just reached 1370 galaxy observations..

mdstuart

19 hours ago, mdstuart said:

I am a beginner.

My total of 1370 galaxies observed is not even in the premier league..

You have just got to look at this thread.

http://www.deepskyforum.com/showthread.php?580-Your-Deep-Sky-Scorecard/page2

Mark

1370 sounds pretty advanced to me, since my galaxy count is a humble *whispers* five.

Doug.

• 2 weeks later...

Part of the challenge playing a numbers game there is always some one with a better sky and bigger scope. It is easy being a big fish in a little pond but harder in the outside world. I would say enjoy what you can get and try and see all you can see and don't worry about what other people do.

Owen

No I don't keep track of numbers just enjoy what I am looking at, however with the 22" if you are looking at an Abell cluster you may find 10-20 galaxies in the field at a time.

Owen

On 2016-10-01 at 21:16, mdstuart said:

I am a beginner.

My total of 1370 galaxies observed is not even in the premier league..

You have just got to look at this thread.

http://www.deepskyforum.com/showthread.php?580-Your-Deep-Sky-Scorecard/page2

Mark

I've bagged less than 1/3 of yours, so an even bigger BIGINNER:grin:

Keep logbook of observations is still a good way, IMHO, we are challenging oursselves, a logbook is a way to see our own progress.:smiley:

Good effort Mark! Are the targets drying up yet? I'm guessing that it isn't a case of, big scope, Point and hoover any more..... where are you focusing on to get you to the big 1500?

re. our friends across the pond. Can't blame them for getting excited about pristine sky's! 

Paul