Help with Celestron Star Sense Auto-Align

Hi all

I'm not new to astronomy nor technology but I am new to technology-assisted astronomy. I'm having problems getting my Star Sense Auto-Align to work properly on my AV-X EQ mount. It auto-aligns perfectly and can find objects accurately but I can't get it to polar align for the purposes of accurate tracking and - hopefully - imaging. The instructions for the polar align are completely different to what the handset actually does; it asks me to align it NS first and then EW using the manual alt/az adjustments. How can this be done as two separate alignments? I've tried just centring up on the alignment star but for some reason each adjustment just seems to take the mount more out of alignment, to the point where it won't find objects any more. Sorry if I'm being dumb - any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

C8XLT - AV-X

From what I remember, use polar alignment routine on handset , then starsense to align scope .

They are 2 very different things so need to be done separately. As you say if you starsense align for GOTO, then use pa routine on handset it upsets GOTO.

Someone will pop in and word this much betterer than wot I did I'm sure :happy11:

Sounds as if you are mixing up the Polar Alignment and the Goto Alignment.

You have to first perform the polar alignment of the mount - poalr scope and Polaris position on the reticle. Get that done then consider the viewing scope and whatever alignment stars.

Then you use the scope to perform the goto alignment - that is when the goto software works out where it is, the local time (changes by longitud), and whatever additional corrections and compenstions it needs in order to point the scope at an object and then track it.