SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Bresser WiFi Camera

Asur1984

First of all, apologies if I have posted this in the wrong section.

I'm just wondering if anyone has come across, or has any experience of the Bresser WiFi Camera?

I have no experience in astrophotography, but this piece of kit looks quite good for a complete beginner at a relatively low cost compared to other bits of kit.

Really looking for pro's and con's of this or any recommendations of alternative bits of kit to get me started imaging the great sights of the cosmos.

Thanks in advance

Jon 

It's only a planetary/lunar camera. For that price I would consider ASI034 or QHY5R-II cameras - as those are proven and what's more important - supported by good capture applications - FireCapture / SharpCap. Those cameras will however require a USB connection with a laptop (or some Windows tablets).

And don't expect to much. Pretty astrophotography is quite expensive and takes "a lot" of processing time to get the final image. Buy after you check what can be achieved with given hardware.

Hi Jon,

I do have one of these, but wouldn't say I have had extensive experience with it. It functions as describes, I had no problem downloading the app, setting it up and connecting via wifi from my iPhone.

The unit itself is nicely built and feels solid, the only tacky part is the 1.25" extension tube which is very lightweight plastic; does the job but very cheap.

I have only used it for solar imaging so far, attached is a grab from a single frame for what it's worth. I think it will be most useful for lunar imaging, and may allow some very basic planetary images but don't expect too much.

If connecting cables and using a laptop are a pain or you don't have a laptop then perhaps this is a good way of starting, otherwise a good webcam may be a better option? I bought it for the simplicity of being able to get images on my phone, and it does that job.

Stu

IMG_6528.PNG

• Like 1