Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_beauty_night_skies.thumb.jpg.2711ade15e31d01524e7dc52d15c4217.jpg

N0ZB

Celestron 8SE not tracking properly?

Hello,

Super newbie here. Clearly I am doing something wrong and I am not sure what it is.

I have a new Celestron 8SE. I have been successful conducting the StarAlign. I then use one of the functions to go to Mars or a star in a constellation - the telescope slews over to the location, lands on it, stops....  then rapidly starts slewing away so the telescope ends up inverted. It comes all the way over the top, starts pointing the scope downward and then stops.

Help.

Scott

Edited by N0ZB

I've not had this issue, but perhaps an upgrade might fix it?  Try:

http://www.nexstarsite.com/OddsNEnds/HCFirmwareUpgradeHowToVersion4.htm

The 'scope comes with a cable for the hand controller, but not the RS232-to-USB adaptor.

Doug.

Also - the adaptor/converter comes with a driver CD.

Edited by cloudsweeper

That may well be power. Seems a bit of a feature when the power supply is inadaquate.

If you are using batteries use new ones and use the high power variety, worst aspect is to use a new set each time. A previously used set will likely be a little low the next time. The scopes will work at 12v but they get questionable at 11.5v, in effect 12v is the minimum. Many people run them just slightly higher, here quite a few Mains/DC supplys have a 13.2v option (mine does) and they use that. The slewing action take a high drain then there is just insufficent to maintain everything. I have/had a small Meade that did just about exactly the same.

Do not use rechargeables, they do not have the right voltage, so exactly the same problem.