Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Celestron 8SE not tracking properly?

Hello,

Super newbie here. Clearly I am doing something wrong and I am not sure what it is.

I have a new Celestron 8SE. I have been successful conducting the StarAlign. I then use one of the functions to go to Mars or a star in a constellation - the telescope slews over to the location, lands on it, stops....  then rapidly starts slewing away so the telescope ends up inverted. It comes all the way over the top, starts pointing the scope downward and then stops.

Help.

Scott

That may well be power. Seems a bit of a feature when the power supply is inadaquate.

If you are using batteries use new ones and use the high power variety, worst aspect is to use a new set each time. A previously used set will likely be a little low the next time. The scopes will work at 12v but they get questionable at 11.5v, in effect 12v is the minimum. Many people run them just slightly higher, here quite a few Mains/DC supplys have a 13.2v option (mine does) and they use that. The slewing action take a high drain then there is just insufficent to maintain everything. I have/had a small Meade that did just about exactly the same.

Do not use rechargeables, they do not have the right voltage, so exactly the same problem.

Yes I had trouble much as you described with my Nexstar 8SE mount when it was on batteries. Since I got a Baader power supply (https://www.firstlightoptics.com/power-accessories/baader-outdoor-telescope-power-supply-128v-15a.html) I've had no problem.

As final thoughts, when you set up your mount:

1. Make sure it is on firm ground and as level as you can. Use a proper spirit level, not one of these buttons with a bubble in the centre which I've found to be hopelessly inaccurate.
  2. Enter your precise location.
  3. Enter you time as precisely as you can, say within 5s.
  4. Centre the star as closely as possible, starting at low magnification and finishing at a higher power.