Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Starting with double stars.

Just lovely and can be fairly easy targets to star hop to. Plenty out there, try Almach in Andromeda for starters. Colours can be amazing, here's a few to kick off with some friendly info,

http://www.skyandtelescope.com/observing/celestial-objects-to-watch/double-stars/

http://users.compaqnet.be/doublestars/

http://www.theskyscrapers.org/double-stars

you don't need huge aperture or pristine skies either,

Nick.

4 minutes ago, Ben the Ignorant said:

Always a useful reminder but I'd say start with single stars.

Why?

I'm a relative noob but I enjoy double stars. Always much easier to spot than hunting down some obscure 'faint fuzzy' in light polluted skies. I enjoy being able to split a double for the first time. When you split a pair there is no doubt about it, whereas discerning the dust lanes in M31 (for example) to me is a bit of a dark art that requires more experience than I possess, for the time being.

1 minute ago, joncrawf said:

Why?

I'm a relative noob but I enjoy double stars. Always much easier to spot than hunting down some obscure 'faint fuzzy' in light polluted skies. I enjoy being able to split a double for the first time. When you split a pair there is no doubt about it, whereas discerning the dust lanes in M31 (for example) to me is a bit of a dark art that requires more experience than I possess, for the time being.

Genuine question by BTW, re-reading it I'm not sure if it comes over more confrontational that I'd intended!

38 minutes ago, joncrawf said:

Genuine question by BTW, re-reading it I'm not sure if it comes over more confrontational that I'd intended!

Not confrontational at all, I know exactly where you are coming from. I think that as long as you start off with easy doubles it is a great place to begin as they are generally more interesting than just single stars. There are lovely colour contrasts, unequal brightnesses and also multiple groups.