SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

the plague of the 80mm refractor

alacant

Hi everyone. I thought this was quite entertaining: http://astro.neutral.org/astronomy_blog/blog/item/2007/09/the-plague-of-the-80mm-apo-refractor

Before I joined I looked through the posts and wondered why everyone copied a long list of equipment they owned in to every post they made. I thought you had to have an 80ED, a 200p or a 130 pds. Unless of course you had €40000 of kit anyway (sic)!

Only joking... 

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

What an odd rant. Technically, I'm sure that the author knows what he is talking about. But, to dismiss others efforts as "boring" is just plain rude. Sure, he may be able to afford £1,500 for a faster scope......

I do have SW ED80 in my equipment list. It is used very happily for visual only.

To say that I have limited knowledge of imaging would be an overstatement. So if I have missed some "imaging" humour, I appologise.

Paul

Ps. I enjoyed Alacant's observation re the signatures.?

Seems a bit of a strange read. Why 80mm refractors, really the answer is simple - people want them. Bit like the way that 8x42 binocuars are the main ones for general viewing, they are a bit of a size many would not expect to have come out on top. An 80mm does many things, not the most massive aperture, not the highest magnifications, but they do most aspects reasonable. Very much a jack of all trades, master of none. Strangely I suspect that that is why they are fairly popular.

At some time the reports says "How many 80mm APO images of the North American Nebula do we have to sit through every summer?" Does the scope only ever point at the NA Nebula? I thought that it was the imager that selects the target, and then images it. And yes here we will gets dozens on M42 images in about a months time, and I feel the same "Another M42!!!"