Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

RJ11 to USB adapter

I am new to this, so my questions may be strange to some...

I have a HEQ-5 Pro mount with SynScan and a Skymax 127 scope and a QHY5L II planet-/guide camera.
As winters tend to be really harsch in the north of sweden, I plan to sit inside and run the mount
from the PC. This will require quite long USB and power cables, but repeater-equipped USB cables are
available, so that should not be a problem.

To run the mount from a PC, you have to have an adapter from rs232 (9-pin D-sub) to USB first, which
I have, but I wish to skip the original RJ11 to RD232cable.

Searching eBay, I found an adapter RJ11 to USB female for less than a US-dollar:
"Connector Plugs USB 2.0 Type A Female to Telephone Phone Cable Line Adaptor".

A long intro, but has anyone tried this adapter and will it work in this environment?

Whilst it is possible that this is the correct adaptor at that price it may be purely a mechanical adaptor and not actually convert the USB data to the RS232 that is required by the mount.  At best it won't work, at worst it could destroy your mount by putting 5V where there isn't meant to be 5V.  Be sure it is actually the right thing before you use it, it seems unlikely that they could make a good quality and legitimate USB serial adaptor for that price.

I'm also in Northern Sweden and know the crisp clear winter skies come at a price.  I currently use a laptop in a box to control everything and then control it over wifi with my iPad.  You may find that your QHY5LII balks at the use of really long USB cables, I know my guide camera refuses to accept anything like that.

I have been working on remote control using a raspberry PI, I found the Rpi2 wasn't really up to the task but the Rpi3 shows a lot of promise.

Maybe you can find a USB-RS232 converter with a FTDI chipset. They are the best. No problems with any version of Windows.