Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

how many targets a night?

I was reading through a thread on here about arget lists and one comment that got my attention was one that said that they only aim for bout 3 targets a session which took m aback a little bit. I tend to just go out with a list and work my way though them untill I get too cold! 

I suppose the 3 targets a night thing makes sense-it enables you to really tease out as much detail as possible from each target. As a beginner I suppose I am just being a bit keen to get onto the next target and see as much as I can in a night without really getting the most out of it.

How many targets do you guys go out planning to bag in a session? and how do you choose? would be interesting to hear from seasoned pros and beginers alike....

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

From home, one session, one target?

Seriously, if I want a decent look at something,  i really need to get away from the house, my views are so restricted here due to the trees, buildings and street lights, though I can still make out the Milky way and M31, overhead, but away from home, darker site, these objects just stand out, but away from home  I'll look at anything, often with just the binoculars?
I have tended to set up the scope in the past from within my dob tent, and study just  one target for as long as possible,  there's no rush to see everything!
Stars don't really interest me through the telescope, just points  of light, no detail,
I've seen Jupiter, with the transit shadow of Io,  small,  but in perfect clarity only once since owning the scope, conditions were perfect that night, hopefully to be repeated this season!
M31 is a smudge, but stands out so well  away from light pollution.