Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

North America and Pelican Nebula

MattJenko

Here is my first real multi session effort with my new widefield rig. It has a massive field of view so can fit all this in. This is my first attempt at processing something this large. It is a much bigger challenge than my smaller field of view images in the past. Feedback more than welcome please.

TS60ED, AzEQ6, ASI1600MM cooled. 

Lum : 135 x 300s.

Red: 160 x 30secs, Green: 65 x 30secs, Blue: 110 x 30secs. All processed in PixInsight.

550c20abf1d4173038574f9afa361de5.1824x0_

Enjoy,

Matt

Looks a great image Matt - why the short subs though? Unless these are unguided?

Also (and forgive the pedantic in me), it is the North America Nebula, not AmericaN. It is not owned by North America, it just looks like landmass. Hence the name.. :)

Thanks daz (changed title).

Short subs as I didn't want to saturate the stars to keep the colour, and camera is so clean that I could still get the nebula in as well with lots of subs. Also, the camera is not 16bit, so more frames are required to really get the dyanmic range, and while I went for it on the Lum (was about 50% saturation at unity gain in 5 mins), I found that 30 secs gives pleasing star colours for RGB as most stars are not saturated and it alls me to get lots and lots of subs. Takes ages to process though!

Hi Matt

That is an impressive field of view !....I like the processing of the image, the details and particularly the stars ! 

Could you expand a bit more on your reason for short duration subs eg is it because of your camera ?

Alan  

Thanks All,